Dark Breaks the Dawn (Untitled #1)

Started: June 29, 2017
Finished: June 30, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 3/5 stars


“Duty is an unforgiving taskmaster and often comes with a steep price, especially for those left behind.”


You might not know this, but I am a big fan of classic ballet. Swan Lake is definitely one of my absolute favourites – but because of that I love it so much and I’ve seen quite a few average-to-terrible retellings of it out there, I was a bit apprehensive about this book. But when you’re down with a fever but still want to read, audio books is the way to go – so I decided to give this a go.

Unfortunately, I think it could have been done a lot better.

I missed the world building that was there in the Defy-series. I seriously had so much trouble keeping track of how this world looked and where things were and how the people looked – as they’re not human. The romance could also have been done a lot better. It was not quite insta-love, but almost. If there’s some sort of “mate” thing behind this (due to them being not human) then that might make more sense, but I didn’t catch that. And the characters fell a bit flat – especially when comparing it to the characters in Defy, which you kind of do since it’s the same author.

I did like the magic, though, and the history hints about how the magic had been divided that were glimpsed here and there. And I also liked the fact that this is a duology and that what we all know as the story of Swan Lake actually does not start until the very end of this book. And that bit was quite intense and interesting, so I will most likely pick up the next book once that comes out. Maybe not right away, but I will get around to it eventually.

One thought on “Dark Breaks the Dawn (Untitled #1)”

Leave a Reply

