Queen of Extinction (Queen of Extinction #1)

Started: June 25, 2017
Finished: June 27, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars


“You delivered that message well, my nymph.”


I received a copy of this novel from the author Gwynn White in exchange for an honest review.

I’m always up for a Sleeping Beauty retelling. This, however, was far from what I had expected it to be. In a good way.

Aurora is the princess of Ryferia, a kingdom ruled by her brother – until he is brutally murdered. In the blink of an eye Aurora finds herself the queen-to-be – if she can find a husband, because the law states that no female heir may rule if she is unmarried. Her power-greedy uncle issues a challenge; find a husband in a month, or he takes the crown – and blames her brother’s death on her.
The problem? Aurora is Infirm, meaning she has a disease shunned like the blight in Ryferia. Finding a husband will not be easy.
However, it soon becomes apparent that Infirm means something else entirely…

I found myself enjoying this story quite a lot. The world was interesting – though I wouldn’t have minded a map to go with the story – as were the rules of magic. The history of the various kingdoms was intriguing and, well, I just found myself really liking the world that Gwynn White and Erin St Pierre had created here.

I also liked the writing and the way we got to read things from three different perspectives – Aurora, Jorah and Raith, the latter two being contestants in Aurora’s deadly game of finding a husband. Jorah definitely turned out to be one of my favourite characters – you cannot say no to a charming but grumpy and proud dragon, people – while Aurora fell a little flat for me. I think I had a difficult time relating to her as she “speaks first, thinks later”, while I generally do the opposite. Raith was interesting thanks to his magic, but otherwise he was not someone I cared for much.

All in all, I really liked this novel and I am looking forward to the next one in the series.

One thought on “Queen of Extinction (Queen of Extinction #1)

  1. Pingback: Book Report: June 2017 – Lady Grey Reads

Leave a Reply

