Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2)

Started: June 17, 2017
Finished: June 29, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 5/5 stars


“He’s three thousand times the human being you’ll ever be,” said Alec. “Now get out of here before I risk his life by waking him up so he can turn you into a garbage fire. Something that would match your personality.”


What. The. Hell. Was. This. Book?!

Holy frikking crap!!

Alright, let me just gather my thoughts. Breathe. Breathe.

Right. So, first of all, this review is going to be full of spoilers. So instead of just making spoiler cuts everywhere, I’m going to hide the rest of it behind one.


This book did not turn out the way I had thought it would turn out. After Lady Midnight I thought that the villain in the next two books would be Annabel. I was 150% certain of it. And then things turned out to be very different – and I absolutely loved it.

Seriously, instead of them fighting against a resurrected Shadowhunter – which felt very much like something that fitted with the Dark War plotline – we’ve now got the Unseelie King and the whole Nazi-like agenda of the Cohort (yep, I said it). And I’m so frikking excited about both of these plotlines and how it’s affecting this whole world!

I’ve also realized that I’m Kit. I’m 100% Kit. If I ever ended up in the Shadowhunter world, I’d be Kit – making lists of things that made no sense at all about the Nephilim. I always had a bit of an issue with the previous Herondales (Will and Jace, though Jace in particular) and I could never really figure out what that was, but now with Kit I suddenly realized it’s because their comments always seemed to mean “Shadowhunters are 100% better than you and I’m the best of them all”, while Kit’s comments are like “No, Shadowhunters are not better than everyone else and I’m going to prove that by being both Shadowhunter and mundane and completely badass at it”.
Like, not even Simon seemed to be able to do that! (Haven’t read Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy yet so if that changes there I have not read it and cannot apply it)

Romance-wise… I liked it. Emma and Julian are definitely a better option as a lead romance couple than Jace and Clary, but just like with TMI I find myself rooting more for the side-ships instead. I mean, Gwyn and Diana are now my OTP (also, Diana being transexual made my day and if I hadn’t already lost my voice due to a cold I would have screamed so high I’d have woken the neighbors on the other side of the courtyard). And I don’t know what’s going on with the whole Mark/Cristina/Kieran love triangle but I am frikking loving it and it beats every other damn love triangle I’ve ever seen because there are no bloody angsty feelings and everyone just loves everyone and it’s just. So. Frikking. Good!

Alright. We all good? We all good? I’ve said all/ the good things?

THEN LET ME TALK ABOUT THE HEARTBREAK THAT WAS THE LAST FEW CHAPTERS OF THIS NOVEL!!!

I got this novel pretty late, which meant I saw people freaking out and tearing up due to the end of this book. And when people got to Alicante and things seemed to be solved and there were still like 50 pages late… I just thought “well, shit”.

Robert Lightwood dies.
Recap of my thoughts at that moment: “Alright, that’s a shame. I liked him. But why are people freaking out about that? Is it because now Emma and Julian can’t get his help?”

Livvy dies.
Recap of my thoughts at that moment: “YOU F*CKING WHAT? NO! NOT LIVVY! HOW’S TY GOING TO DEAL WITH THIS? HOW’S ANYONE? LIVVY!!”

Magnus falls into some sort of coma and it’s revealed that all warlocks are affected and weakened by something.
Recap of my thoughts at that moment: “YOU DO NOT

F*CKING TOUCH

MAGNUS F*CKING BANE!!!!”

And now we have to wait two years until the next book.
Great.
I’m not salty.
Or want to tear up the entire universe to right all of these things.
Yay.

2 thoughts on “Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2)”

  1. I SOOO AGREE. Like this was me before reading LoS: “Break my heart. Break it in pieces. I give you permission.” AND BOYYYYYY DID IT FULFILL.
    I cried so much though?? Like Magnus, and Clary, AND LIVVY WTF WAS THAT. I LITERALLY LOST IT AT THAT. I,,, I can’t even. It was so good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

