The Rose Society (The Young Elites #2)

Started: June 5, 2017
Finished: June 20, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars


Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, so she destroyed them all.


Actual rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

I’m definitely not as enamored with this series as I would like to be. I like it in general, but I do not love it. And I do not really understand why I feel like that.

Looking at the individual elements of this novel, I should have loved it. I should have been extatic about the twists and turns in the story, the characters – old and new – and the magic displayed. But somehow, combined, that didn’t happen. Throughout the majority of the story I found myself thinking “medium rating, this is medium rating, somewhere around 3 stars”. Some of the twists in the end – and the final revelations and cliffhanger for the next novel – where what pushed the rating to change into a 3.5 – rounded up to a 4.

I hope that, once I’ve read Midnight Star, my opinions of this series might change to the better. I do want to like this and I can’t see why I do not. Bear with me until then!

One thought on “The Rose Society (The Young Elites #2)”

Leave a Reply

