Stars Above (Lunar Chronicles #4.5)

Started: June 1, 2017
Finished: June 7, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars


His smile was instinctive. A little bit apology, a little bit politeness. And a little bit of charm because, of all the things he’d expected to come from his trip to the market, meeting a cute girl with messy hair and dirty work gloves had definitely not been one of them.


Average rating: 4.1

The Keeper: 4/5
Deals with how Michelle Benoit came to be the one to shelter Princess Selene and how Scarlet came to live with her grandmother.
A good story and a good compliment to the rest of the series.

Glitches: 3/5
Deals with how Cinder comes to live with her foster family in New Beijing.
An alright story. Lots of what is written is already well known, nothing’s really new and interesting.

The Queen’s Army: 4/5
Deals with how Ze’ev and his brother become a part of the Queen’s mutant army.
I enjoyed this story a lot. I had almost forgotten about Wolf’s brother – was he ever mentioned beyond Scarlet?

Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky: 3/5
Deals with parts of Carswell Thorne’s childhood.
I was a bit disappointed in this story. I love Thorne, but this did not feel like how I had imagined him to be as a kid. A womanizer, certainly, but there was just something… off. Can’t quite put my finger on it.

After Sunshine Passes By: 4/5
Deals with how Cress ends up on the satellite.
Such a sweet and sad little story!

The Princess and the Guard: 5/5
Deals with Winter and Jacin’s childhood.
Oh my stars, this was such an amazing story! Absolutely loved it! Made me like Winter and Jacin even more!

The Little Android: 5/5
A retelling of The Little Mermaid.
This was brilliant! I love the original Little Mermaid story, which differs from Disney’s version, and this followed that storyline and I adored it to bits!

The Mechanic: 4/5
Kai’s visit to Cinder’s shop, from Kai’s POV.
This was so sweet! Oh my stars, I had forgotten how awkward bits of that first meeting were! It’s adorable!

Something Old, Something New: 5/5
An epilogue to the series.
I cannot give this less than 5 stars. Weddings, proposals, idiotic paparazzis… what is not to love?

Overall, I absolutely loved being back in this world! I’ve missed these characters, these locations and Marissa Meyer’s writing. And the stories were overall very good. Just a few that I didn’t care that much for. Definitely a plausible re-read at some point.

One thought on “Stars Above (Lunar Chronicles #4.5)

  1. Pingback: Book Report: June 2017 – Lady Grey Reads

Leave a Reply

