Book Report: May 2017

Haven’t read as much as I probably could have in May, mainly because of that there have been some other stuff (good stuff) happening in my life, making my head buzz and keeping me from focusing on reading. But I’m still happy with what I accomplished during this month and I’m looking forward to June!

Format is inspired by C.R.M Nilsson – link in the sidebar!

Number of books read: 9

A Court of Wings and Ruin
Avenged
The Son of Neptune
The Mark of Athena
Fall Far from the Tree
The House of Hades
The Crown’s Fate
Inyoni Rocks
The Blood of Olympus

Number of pages: 1273 (+82.5 hours of audio)
Average rating: 4.2

Written by men: 4
Written by women: 5
Written by American writers: 8
Written by South African writers: 1

Book of the Month: Inyoni Rocks
Worst of the Month: The Crown’s Fate
Surprise of the Month: Fall Far From the Tree
Disappointment of the Month: A Court of Wings and Ruin

Currently reading: Bloodrose (Cremer, Andrea) / Stars Above (Meyer, Marissa)
Will read: See this link

Comments

  • Book of the Month: I still cry whenever I see the title of this book. Bloody frikking hell, it broke me – and I knew it would, considering how heartwrenching the first novel in this series was. Seriously; if you haven’t picked up this series yet, go do it now!
  • Surprise of the Month: Was not sure what to expect of this book. Turns out it had a lot more twists and turns and unexpected events than I had thought it would.
  • Disappointment of the Month: No, I did lot give this a low rating, and yes, it was still a very, very good book. But compared to the previous novels it did not hold up – especially since it felt like the end of a series. Yes, it was meant to bring a close to Feyre’s story, but too few things were left unsolved for me to feel overly hyped about the next novel already.
  • Worst of the Month: Disappointed in how this was carried out. It could have been a much better novel with a few tweaks.
Leave a Reply

