The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus #2)

Started: May 7, 2017
Finished: May 8, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars


“It wasn’t easy looking dignified wearing a bed sheet and a purple cape.”


Percy’s back, thank the gods! Even though I enjoyed the first book in this series, I definitely did not like the lack of Percy sarcasm. Like I said; thank the gods he’s back!

Aaand, yes, that did pull up my rating a bit. I gave the first book 3.5 stars and if this one hadn’t had so much Percy commentary… I’d probably have given it about the same. The story felt a bit too simple. I liked the new characters, though – Hazel and Frank. Mainly because Frank’s Chinese and connects this mythology to the Chinese one, and Hazel’s from New Orleans, which is one of my bucket list places to go to (my dad’s been there many times because of his job and I’ve still got a perfume bottle from a shop he visited about two months before Katrina happened).

I also liked seeing the new versions of the gods – the Roman versions, Pluto and Mars specifically. Juno… yeah, I agree with the book, she’s a gweipoh. But Pluto and Mars were cool – especially Mars. I always disliked Ares, but Mars felt more logical and compassionate. Which was cool.

And considering the ending of this one, I guess we’re on our way to Europe in the next book. Awesome!

One thought on “The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus #2)

  1. Pingback: Book Report: May 2017 – Lady Grey Reads

Leave a Reply

