The Mark of Athena (Heroes of Olympus #3)

Started: May 9, 2017
Finished: May 11, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars


They were alone except for Coach Hedge, who was back on the quarterdeck singing the Pokémon theme song. The coach had changed the words to: Gotta Kill ’Em All, and Leo really didn’t want to know why.


I spat out my coffee when I heard that quote (listening to this as an audio book), hence why I had to add it.

Alright, so I am genuinely getting into this series like I did with the Percy Jackson series. I love the seven heroes together (+Coach Hedge) and how they’ve got a lot more tangled pasts than what was first revealed. And I liked Annabeth’s quest and the fact that the others go to rescue Nico, despite knowing it’s a trap.

And then there’s the ending…

OH. MY. FRIKKING. GODS!!! You had to end it like that?!

Best cliffhanger in a long time!

So why not 5 stars – or even 4.5? It still felt too simple. Like they could easily solve all the tasks thrown in their way despite the Mediterranean supposedly being far more dangerous than the places we’ve seen before. Would have liked a bit more trouble for our heroes – which sounds terrible, I know, but you probably get my point. Still the most enjoyable book so far in this series and I’m looking forward to the next!

One thought on “The Mark of Athena (Heroes of Olympus #3)”

Leave a Reply

