A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACOTAR #3)

Started: May 2, 2017
Finished: May 5, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 5/5 stars


“We’re all a broken, in our own ways – In places no one might see.”


Actual rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Alright, so, first of all, this book had everything I wanted and more and I do love it a lot. But you can tell it was originally meant to be the final novel of the series as everything other than a few added loose threads was solved. This is why I’ve taken the rating down by half a star (Goodreads, we need them, like, now) – and why I can already tell this book won’t be my Book of the Year unlike its two predecessors.

And with that out of the way I can actually gush about this book. Because oh my God these characters and this world = the best! And from here on I will hide this review behind a cut because I do have trouble talking about this without revealing spoilers.

First; I love that Mor is bisexual/gay. Yes, it might have felt a bit forced in that moment and, yes, I would have liked to continue my Azriel/Mor ship – but I felt it still added something to the character. Believe me, I loved Mor in ACOMAF, but this made me love her even more. I also loved that some of the High Lords appeared to be either bi or gay.

Second; speaking of High Lords… that meeting. Finally we got to see all of the High Lords and their bickering and melodrama. Aaand yes, I wanted to punch most of them in the face. Or in some other place that would hurt a lot.

Third; Tamlin. You guys probably remember that I loved Tamlin in the first book and then went “nope” in the second. And, yeah, kind of took me a while to warm up to him here as well. But he came back and proved that he was able of being more than that jealous, mad, cowering High Lord that he became after Feyre left with Rhys. When he helped revive Rhys in the end I did actually feel like, yeah, he does deserve some love as well. I do actually hope that he might find someone in the next few novels.

Fourth; Nessa and Elain. Loved, loved, loved Nessa as High Fae – and Elain just kept being so sweet and caring and had such amazing powers and I just wanted to make sure she was safe all the time. I want to see more Nessa and Cassian in the next novel – because, hey, they only just seemed to get together here – but I’m torn when it comes to who I ship Elain with. I mean, Lucien is one of my favs – especially in this book when he broke with Tamlin and became more of the guy I loved so much in the first novel – but I almost feel like he still thinks he is meant to be with Elain instead of getting to know her and see if there is actually love there. Azriel and Elain are so cute together, though – day and night together – so maybe they’re a better ship. I don’t know. I just want both sisters to be happy.

Fifth; Rhys and Feyre keep on being amazing, but sometimes I felt like I wanted less of them and more of the others. The peak of their story sort of played out in ACOMAF – now it was just some further development of it. Still; ultimate power couple.

Sixth; what next? I saw traces of several fairy tales in this story that I would love to see developed in the next novel, though the most important one was the one that included Vassa. You might not know this about me, but I’m a big, big fan of Tchaikovksy. And what was Vassa’s story? Swan Lake, people! I freaked out big time when I realized that!! Oh, and the Ouroboros mirror? You know what I thought of regarding that? HC Andersen’s Snow Queen! Another of my favorites! Think about it; the troll mirror in that story makes people do bad things, see bad things… I don’t know, I just made a sudden connection between the two. Though I doubt that will be further developed. I’d like to see more of Vassa, though, and Jurian as well. Now that we found out he wasn’t mad. Some human perspective on the changes in this world would be interesting. Of course, I’d also love more Lucien, Nessa, Elain… any of the characters that we all fell in love with throughout this first trilogy, but was not the main part of the story.

So those are my thoughts on this novel! And, yes, I am looking forward to the next one already. But perhaps not as much as I looked forward to this one, thanks to that most of the things, like I said, were solved. But still; I’ll probably buy and start reading it the day it’s released!

One thought on “A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACOTAR #3)

  1. Pingback: Book Report: May 2017 – Lady Grey Reads

Leave a Reply

