Book Report: April 2017

Yes, a book report that is on time! I read a lot in April compared to the three previous months this year – even though I’ve been really busy this month. Is that a thing – do I actually read more when I’m busy? I don’t even know. Lots of books were really good as well, so picking a Book of the Month was difficult.

Format is inspired by C.R.M Nilsson – link in the sidebar!

Number of books read: 8

The Mechanical Bird: A Tale of Two Ladies
The Book Thief
Wolfsbane
Blue Lily, Lily Blue
The Raven King
A Darker Shade of Magic
Crown of Ice
Flame in the Mist

Number of pages: 1522 (+ 36 hours of audio)
Average rating: 4.0

Written by men: 2
Written by women: 6
Written by American writers: 6
Written by Australian writers: 1

Book of the Month: The Book Thief
Worst of the Month: The Mechanical Bird: A Tale of Two Ladies
Surprise of the Month: Flame in the Mist
Disappointment of the Month: Crown of Ice

Currently reading: Bloodrose (Cremer, Andrea) / Fall Far from the Tree (McNulty, Amy)
Will read: See this link

Comments

  • Book of the Month: This book affected me more than I had expected it to do and I’m so glad I finally picked it up.
  • Surprise of the Month: I wanted to enjoy this book – and I did – but there were several elements that were surprising to me which made me pick it as Surprise of the Month
  • Disappointment of the Month: I would have liked this to be a very different retelling of one of my favorite fairy tales. Sadly, no
  • Worst of the Month: Didn’t feel like a complete book, kind of “meh”
Leave a Reply

