A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1)

Started: April 11, 2017
Finished: April 24, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 5/5 stars


“The bodies in my floor all trusted someone. Now I walk on them to tea.”


Actual rating: 4.5/5 stars

So this book I received through the Christmas Book Santa Gift Exchange 2016 and I was so, so happy to get it because I’d heard so much about this trilogy. And I was not disappointed.

I love the magic in this book, how it has a mind and will of its own and you need to be careful, or you might end up like the people of Black London; lost forever. But, of course, there are other dangers as well. Like smuggling illegal objects between the various versions of London – from Grey to Red to White – and that is what Kell, adoptive son of Red London’s royal family, does while also being an ambassador. He gets into trouble and finds himself in league with a thief from Grey London – Lila Bard. Who, by the way, is a badass girl who definitely deserves to live her dream of becoming a pirate.

It’s a story of adventure and magic, difficult choices and difficult feelings. I couldn’t quite rate it a 5 out of 5, however, because I felt like too much was “solved” by the end of it. There are still things that need to be solved and loose threads that need to be followed, but I felt like there weren’t enough. Still, this is a really, really good book and I am excited to read the next one!

2 thoughts on “A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1)”

Leave a Reply

