The Scarecrow Queen (The Sin Eater’s Daughter)

Started: March 15, 2017
Finished: March 24, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 5/5 stars


“In every fairy tale there is a kernel of truth, and that is the truth of this one. For him, I am poison. I am his death. And I will deliver.”


Actual rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I am so happy with this ending! Seriously, the ending of this book was probably the best YA series ending I’ve read in a long, long time.

In truth this whole book was enjoyable. It truly portrays the way the land (the whole of it) is under siege from Aurek, how cruel he is and how far he is willing to go to stay in power. There’s terror and blood and grime everywhere. And a rebellion.

Twylla is back as the character telling the story – for two thirds of it – and as I was reading things from her POV I found I had forgotten a lot from the first book. Which was kind of frustrating, especially since I listened to that as an audio book and the book has been removed from by audio book app so I can’t go back and re-check bits and pieces like I would when reading series otherwise. But I have to say that her POV was a lot less enjoyable than Errin’s – who only told one third of this story.

However, Twylla definitely grew throughout this book, from runaway princess to rebellion leader. As did Merek; I did not like his character at all in the first book, but now I suddenly found myself in love with him because, hey, I love a guy who likes to learn new things! And these things, combined with the vividness of this world’s terrors under Aurek’s reign, are what makes me push the rating up to 4.5 stars.

One thought on “The Scarecrow Queen (The Sin Eater’s Daughter)”

Leave a Reply

