The Book Thief

Started: March 22, 2017
Finished: April 4, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 5/5 stars


“I am haunted by humans.”


That gif is an accurate representation of how I felt when I finished this. It didn’t matter how prepared I felt I was for that ending – it still broke my heart.

The story is a very slow build. In a way, it is an accurate representation of life. It isn’t always fast. But as war closes in around the main characters and their town things start to change. There’s suspicion and distancing, love and grief, and they’re all viewed and told to the reader from Death’s POV – who learned of all of this through different events but also through a book written by Liesl, the Book Thief.

Death is a very interesting POV character but it works so, so well, because he is not human – he is something else – and is able to distance himself from the actions of humans. I wonder how he would narrate other events in human history – and what’s going on in our current time. I think he’d be able to make better and more accurate observations than most humans.

If you – like me – still haven’t picked this book up, I suggest you do. It is such a unique book and it feels like, in the times we currently live in, it is a book we all need to read.

2 thoughts on “The Book Thief

  1. Pingback: Book Report: April 2017 – Lady Grey Reads

Leave a Reply

