Stalking Jack the Ripper (Stalking Jack the Ripper #1)

jan-stalkingjacktheripper

Started: December 28, 2016
Finished: January 3, 2017

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars


I was determined to be both pretty and fierce, as Mother had said I could be. Just because I was interested in a man’s job didn’t mean I had to give up being girly. Who defined those roles anyhow?


It’s been a while since I read a murder mystery without immediately figuring out who the killer was.

I had no idea what to think of this story when I started listening to it. I’d heard that it was good, yes, but I tend not to rely solely on what others say. Or at least I try to.
This was good, just like people had said it was. I enjoyed listening to it – even though I sometimes had to pause the audio book just to gather my thoughts and get my head around what the hell I had just heard – and I liked the main character. Not sure what brought this around; a lot of the things about this girl are things that usually mean I’ll do the opposite and not like her.

However, I found that I didn’t enjoy Thomas Cresswell as much as I’d hoped. Not sure why either – I’m a Sherlock-fan after all and Cresswell is very much a Sherlock-character – but for some reason I just went “meh” at him. Not enough to pull the rating down, mind; he’s a good character but not the amazing man that makes me crave his presence on every page.

No, what made me lower the rating a bit was that the language at times felt too modern for the story’s setting. I don’t expect a novel like this to be written like one of the actual classics from the 1800s, mind, but there were phrases that showed up now and again that made me go “what? how? when?” – and since it’s written in first person those instances made the storytelling feel kind of… out of place.

But other than that; really good story and, yes, I’m already looking forward to the next one in the series!

One thought on “Stalking Jack the Ripper (Stalking Jack the Ripper #1)”

Leave a Reply

