Stardust

dec-stardust

Started: December 22, 2016
Finished: December 26, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

Alright, so, here’s a tip: don’t watch the movie before the book, don’t watch it multiple times and don’t ever expect the two to be the same.

Usually I follow that advice – with this one, however, I went against it. Well, not intentionally; I saw the movie Stardust at some point with my sister when I was in my older teens and at that time I didn’t even think “hm, maybe I should read the book first” because it was either watch it or do some boring thing which I cannot remember right now.

Anyhow, me having watched that movie – not once but several times – and me having way too good a memory when it comes to details expected this to follow just about the same story line. Which was not the case. The two are not the same and, once I’d realized that (I’m ashamed to say it took a while) I ended up enjoying this immensely because it became an entirely new story! Add Neil Gaiman’s brilliant storytelling and you’ve got a really good book.

The reason why I deducted one star from this review is that the movie is – sadly – still affecting me. I keep remembering the details in it and, at times, those made me disappointed in the lack of details in this story. Which is the way it should be, because this is a fairy tale like story and fairy tales are supposed to have details left out. But, yeah, in the position I was now I had trouble reconciling the details of the movie with the lesser amount in the book.

I still want to re-read this, though, and who knows; maybe then I’ll up the rating? 🙂

One thought on “Stardust

  1. Pingback: Book report: December 2016 – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

