The Blazing Star (Untitled Series #1)

nov-theblazingstar

Started: November 22, 2016
Finished: December 17, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 2/5 stars

This book had potential to me. It held a lot of things that are exactly to my taste, such as ancient civilizations, magic and time travel.

Aaaand then there were things that I didn’t like and unfortunately they outweighed the good things.

1, Predictability
I found so much of this story to be incredibly predictable. I felt like I knew exactly who was a good and a bad guy from the start, as well as who was going to live or die and who was going to fall in and out of love. And all of those predictions came true!

2, Teenage-y drama
Yeah, this might have to do with me being 25, but I just can’t stand books with a lot of teenage drama/angst/whatever. Come to think of it I couldn’t really stand those when I was a teenager either, so maybe it’s just a thing I’ve never enjoyed. But if you don’t mind books that fall in this category you shouldn’t have a problem with this one.

3, No editor?
I know I received this as an arc, which might mean it’s not the finished version and there might be mistakes, but seriously; this many mistakes? I almost wished I had this in print just so I could mark all the faults – and I don’t even like marking out all of the faults to my students! I just… it is just very annoying to have both grammar mistakes, misspelled words, sentences where the words have been mixed up as well as words, sentences and even whole paragraphs repeated when you’re trying to enjoy the story. And to have at least one of these things happen on every page…

I can see potential for this story, but I don’t think I’ll continue reading a possible sequel. Sorry.

One thought on “The Blazing Star (Untitled Series #1)”

Leave a Reply

