The Forgetting

pubsep-theforgetting

Started: November 5, 2016
Finished: November 17, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

Okay, so, I thought this story would go in an entirely different direction. I doubt I would have if I had taken a closer look at both the summary and the list of genres listed for the book on Goodreads.

Quick summary for you all; main character, Nadia, lives in the walled city of Canaan where, every twelve years, people forget their entire lives. Due to this they all carry books on them where they write down everything that happens to them during the day, what they feel and think and who they’re friends and family are. There’s just one small issue: since everyone forgets everything, it’s easy to lie and create a new life for yourself every twelve years. Nadia knows this – because her father did exactly that, and Nadia is the only one in Canaan who has never forgotten. As the next Forgetting approaches, Nadia – along with the glassblower’s son, Gray – starts to notice things about the city that do not make sense, as well as things outside the city, which is not a place that people should venture into. Together they try to solve the riddles of Canaan before the Forgetting happens – before Nadia, once again, is the only one to remember the truth.

And now a part of the review that does contain spoilers.

When I started this I was convinced that I would be experiencing something akin to The Maze Runner where the people in Canaan were held in their city and made to forget because of some experiment created by the government. Imagine my shock when I realized that this was actually about a frikking space colony gone wrong! Oh, I love when books do that to me!

Other than that little spoiler, I also enjoyed the characters and the romance. What makes me not give it a 5 star rating is mainly that I would have liked more world building, because I had quite a bit of trouble imagining the setting from time to time. But other than that; man, this book was good!

One thought on “The Forgetting”

Leave a Reply

