Black Jade (Emma Donahoe #9)

pubjune-blackjade

Started: October 11, 2016
Finished: October 23, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

fine-youre-good

Actual rating: 4.25/5 stars

Mind you; I love this book, I love this series, I love these characters. And I’m gonna miss it now that it’s finished and it’ll probably be a series that I go back and re-read bits and pieces of. This series – all nine books, not just the last trilogy – has helped me deal with the post-moving-back-to-Europe-from-China-feels and given me so much interesting tidbits of Chinese traditions and, yeah, I just love it.

However this was not the best ending. Yes, everything that was supposed to wrap up was wrapped up. Yes, there were many epic moments and heartbreaking moments. But I felt like there were so many things that needed to be solved and explained in this one book that the storyline was a bit jumpy. It almost felt like two or three shorter books made into one.

There’s definitely a big difference between the storyline’s flow in the first book and this last book and I think that even though change is part of growing as an author, there is a point when you almost have to stop and go back a bit. This book could have done with more thinking of the flow of the story.

One thought on “Black Jade (Emma Donahoe #9)

  1. Pingback: Book Report: October 2016 – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

