Timekeeper (Timekeeper #1)

Started: October 1, 2016
Finished: October 9, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

I received this book as an ARC from Sky Pony Press on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Alright, so I discovered this book through a recommendation on Goodreads and thought it sounded like a really interesting debut novel. At about the same time I signed up for NetGalley, saw that it was a plausible book to request for an ARC, sent in a request on a whim and was shocked when I actually got one – in a good way, since this was a book that I really wanted to read this year but wasn’t sure if I would be able to get my hands on.

So this story has a lot of themes that I really enjoy; it’s a steampunk novel, it contains some underlying family drama and it’s LGBTQ+. Add a good writing style, interesting mythology and technology and you get a story that I get really into. This was a story that I actually had no trouble reading at work when I had a moment to spare – or when I’d had a tough couple of lessons and needed to zone out. The romance in this novel was supercute – instant fav ship here – and I had a hard time figuring out who the bad guy actually was, and I think that I actually gasped while reading it in the staff room at work.

However I found one thing a bit predictable, and that was that I always had a feeling that everything was going to work out. I just knew that this would have a happy ending and that’s what keeps it from getting a 5 star rating; it had no real final twist to the story. And this is the first novel in a series, which means that it sort of needs some loose threads for people to be interested in the next installment. I will still keep an eye out for the next novel because of that I loved so many other parts of this novel and this world that Tara Sim has created, but I’m also a bit worried about what the next novel is going to contain, because this story felt finished.

But yeah; a lot of good things to say about this novel and I definitely recommend people to read it.

One thought on “Timekeeper (Timekeeper #1)

  1. Pingback: Book Report: October 2016 – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

