TBR Pile: October 2016

It’s been a while since I did an actual TBR pile post. What’s new since last time? I’ve signed up for NetGalley, which means that I’m not more likely to get ARCs than before – and I have two on the list for October. One I’m already almost halfway through and I’m planning on finishing that this week. Then I have another book to read before I can get onto another ARC, but I am hoping to get through two ARCs in this month.

ALREADY STARTED

june-andthemountainsechoed

And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

I started this for a readathon this summer, got about halfway through and then just got other books on my mind. It’s a bit more complicated than the other novels by the same author that I’ve read, which is throwing me off a bit. So it’s taking a while and I’ll probably have to tell myself that “You know, today you’ll focus on this and only this” in order to actually finish it.

pubnov-timekeeper

Timekeeper by Tara Sim

So this book is an ARC that I received through NetGalley – and I was so happy about it because I had received a rec for this book and thought it sounded really interesting. I’m almost halfway through it as of now and my current feeling is that it won’t be a 5 star read, but still a good read. We’ll see what happens.

NEXT IN LINE

pubjune-blackjade

Black Jade by Kylie Chan

finally got my hands on this and I want to start reading it right now, but I also know that if I do I’ll get stuck reading this and not focus on anything else. So I’m leaving it be until I feel like I can actually just take the time and read.

oct-portalofathousandworlds

Portal of a Thousand Worlds by Dave Duncan

Another ARC I got through NetGalley and just looking at the cover I’m craving this. China? Magic? Sign me up!

oct-thegirlwiththewindupheart

The Girl with the Windup Heart by Kady Cross

The final installment in this series. I actually started it in August, but had to put it down again after 1-2 chapters because I was distracted by other things. Hoping to actually read it during this month instead.

foreversong

The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa

I had hoped to be able to read this during the summer as I felt that I needed the free time to do it, but that just did not happen. Instead I’m hoping that this can be my “slightly creepy October book”.


I know that I’ll be pretty busy for the rest of October, so I’m going to leave the TBR at these books. I’m not even sure I’ll be able to get through all of them but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the “three books per month” trend is not going to continue.

Leave a Reply

