Amanzimtoti: The Ridge (Amanzimtoti #1)

sep-theridge

Started: August 4, 2016
Finished: September 6, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 5/5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from author Carmen-Shea Hepburn in exchange for an honest review.

Oh.
My.
God.

This book. This book! Gods, it f*cked me up.
I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book, but I liked the brief summary I got and I was like “yeah, cool, this will be a good book to read after work, just relaxing, an easy read”. Boy, was I wrong – and in a good way!

This book follows Wayne, who lives in Amanzimtoti in South Africa with his family. He has a girlfriend, a best friend (who happens to be the twin of the girlfriend), loves to surf, does not enjoy school… sounds like your average feel-good novel, right? And the first chapter or two might make you think that it is. Then all hell breaks lose as Kyle, Wayne’s childhood friend, suddenly comes back into his life – and with this arrival, the hell that was his childhood comes back to the surface. Warning! If you get triggered by self-harm, homophobia or family abuse, this is not a good book for you. Because there’s a lot of it.

The characters feel real, the situations they’re in feel real, and I found that I could not just speed read through this book because after every second chapter or so I just had to stop and process what had just happened. And that’s what makes it such a good novel; it makes you think. It makes you reflect, it makes you want to go smack something, or cry, or hug someone. Absolutely mind-blowing and superbly awesome.

One thought on “Amanzimtoti: The Ridge (Amanzimtoti #1)

  1. Pingback: A three month book report – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

