A three month book report

First of all I want to apologize for not posting for so, so long on this blog. The last month has just been… hectic is almost too small of a word to describe it, but yeah. I started working at a new school mid-August and even though I’m really enjoying it it always takes a while to get into the rhythm and routines of a new workplace. There have been some conflicts that needed to be solved in my class, some conflicts in other classes that I needed to deal with, injured children rushed to the ER (luckily it wasn’t as serious as it first looked) and, yeah, a lot of things.

I also haven’t posted a book report since June. The one I was supposed to post for July never went up because first I was up hiking in the Swedish mountains and right after that I started at the new school and everything about it just got pushed to the back of my mind. The one for August was, similarly, ignored because of the ton of things I had to deal with at work.

The tempo of both August and September have forced me to not read as much as I would have liked, but I haven’t gotten behind on my reading plan because I read so much in July thanks to the triple readathon I did back then. So I’m still on route to completing my goal and if I get my reading back on track now that I feel a bit more comfortable with work and stuff I might actually be able to read more than I thought I would this year.

Because of the length of this book report I won’t add any comments to the Book/Worst/Surprise/Disappointment of the Month.

As always, the format of this is inspired by C.R.M Nilsson – link in the sidebar!

July

Number of books read: 14

The Death Cure
The Clockwork Scarab
Red Queen
Legend
The Lost Hero
Truthwitch
Prince’s Gambit
Apprentice
Harry Potter & the Philosopher’s Stone
The Great Gatsby
Rebel of the Sands
The White Rose
Princess of Thorns
Kings Rising

Number of pages: 4445 (+ 16.5 hours of audio)
Average rating: 4.0

Written by men: 3
Written by women: 11
Written by American writers: 10
Written by Australian writers: 2
Written by British writers: 1
Written by Canadian writers: 1

Book of the Month: Prince’s Gambit
Worst of the Month: The Death Cure
Surprise of the Month: Rebel of the Sands
Disappointment of the Month: Red Queen


August

Number of books read: 3

Snow Like Ashes
Sula’s Voyage
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Number of pages: 969
Average rating: 4.0

Written by men: 1
Written by women: 3
Written by American writers: 1
Written by British writers: 1
Written by Filipino writers: 1

Book of the Month: Sula’s Voyage
Worst of the Month: Snow Like Ashes
Surprise of the Month: Sula’s Voyage
Disappointment of the Month: Snow Like Ashes


September

Number of books read: 3

Kingdom of Ashes
Amanzimtoti: The Ridge
Empire of Storms

Number of pages: 945 (+ 8.75 hours of audio)
Average rating: 4.3

Written by women: 3
Written by American writers: 1
Written by British writers: 1
Written by South African writers: 1

Book of the Month: Empire of Storms
Worst of the Month: Kingdom of Ashes
Surprise of the Month: Amanzimtoti: The Ridge
Disappointment of the Month: Kingdom of Ashes


Currently reading: And the Mountains Echoed (Hosseini, Khaled) / Timekeeper (Sim, Tara)
Will read: See this link

Leave a Reply

