The Great Gatsby

thegreatgatsby

Started: July 18, 2016
Finished: July 19, 2o16

Language: English
Rating: 3/5 stars

It’s a classic, it’s got old-style writing, old style plot line, and yes I was expecting that it would be a bit slow to start with because that’s how I usually experience classics. Lots of details to go through and all of that. But I found this particularly slow considering the length of it – it took about a third of the book for the story to get started and that was a bit too long for me. Though I did enjoy the rest and, as I haven’t seen the movie (not even the trailer, tbh), I went into it completely unknowing of what may or may not happen. Which is what I like to do when it comes to classics – though it’s unusual that I’m able to actually do it.

But anyway, yes; enjoyed the story, but it took too long to get it going and thus it was a very, very slow read considering the length. And it is one of those novels that I think you should read even if it’s not your main genre.


Read for the BookTubeAThon 2016, challenge #2: read a book only after sunset

One thought on “The Great Gatsby”

Leave a Reply

