Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands #1)

rebelofthesands

Started: July 20, 2016
Finished: July 21, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

Actual rating: 3.5 stars

First; I love this world! It’s such an interesting location with so many different cultures and ideals and people – and it’s all described in a very colorful way that draws you in. I haven’t read many books with djinni (yet; I have several on my TBR), but what I found interesting with this wasn’t that the writer started with an explanation of the djinni and their powers etc – she just mentioned them in passing, as if it was something anyone already knew, and then when it became necessary to add more information she did. It felt more real 🙂

So yes; world building in this book is very good and if I were to write a review based on just that it would be a 5/5 star novel. However, I also have to take other things into account. Such as characters and relationships – and that did not strike me as something as well developed as the world itself. The characters were interesting, certainly, but I didn’t feel invested in them. It was easy to predict what the main character would discover about themselves in the end. The main character’s romantic relationship felt rushed – I actually enjoyed the antagonistic relationships with her uncle’s family and with her half-brother on the djinni side a lot more than the romance, which is saying something. I do, however, have high hopes that there won’t be a love triangle here. At least not between characters already introduced. Mind you, I’m not opposed to love triangles, but if the original romance is badly written a love triangle might make me discard the book entirely.

Will I continue this series? I believe so, but I’m not sure if I’ll buy the next installment right after it’s published. Not until I’ve seen some reviews on it.


This book was read for the BookTubeAThon 2016, challenge #3: Read a book you discovered through BookTube

One thought on “Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands #1)

  1. Pingback: A three month book report – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

