Princess of Thorns

princessofthorns

Started: July 23, 2016
Finished: July 25, 2016

So last summer I read Of Beast and Beauty, which I absolutely loved and could not stop thinking about for so long – but prior to reading that I’d read the excerpt for this book and enjoyed this as well. Needless to say I had high hopes that I would like the full story as well. And I did, for the most part. The characters are really well written and the world’s intriguing and it feels like a gritty sequel to Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty, like something set in George RR Martin’s universe. Which I really enjoy – I’ve always liked having a lot of details and not leaving things out and not being afraid to describe things as they are.

However, the ending… no, not up to my standards. It was too fast and finished up too easily and, yeah, all of these complications were solved in 30-40 pages. I felt like this book needed a longer, more complicated ending in order to get the story to wrap up nicely. Still a cute ending, but yeah, too simple. Hence why I knocked a star from the rating.

Also, in case you’re wondering, there are other fairy tales referenced in this as well, such as HC Andersen’s The Wild Swans (heartbreaking story) and Grimm’s Rapunzel. So not just one fairy tale retelling; multiple ones, woven together! Very Once Upon a Time 😉

But yeah, in my opinion, Of Beast and Beauty was better than this one.


Read for the BookTubeAThon 2016, challenge #4: read a book by one of your favorite authors

One thought on “Princess of Thorns

  1. Pingback: A three month book report – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

