The Clockwork Scarab (Stoker & Holmes #1)

clockworkscarab

Started: July 3, 2016
Finished: July 5, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

Actual rating: 3.5

First; love the setting, love the steampunk, love the fact that it feels like one of my own fanfictions. I seriously had to double check that Colleen Gleason was not me in disguise, because there were so many elements of this story that I tend to use when I write fanfics, such as the time travel/person entering a fictional story, whichever it turns out to be. Although, I’ve never written steampunk, at least not well, so I guess I’m not the author of this.

Also, the story felt very short and condensed. It could have been extended and elaborated and had a lot more details than it ended up having. Victorian London + steampunk setting should equal a ton of things to describe to really set the tone, but there was very little of that. The two main characters could also have been developed further – and described better. I forgot what they looked like after a while, which (for me) meant that I lost some of the immersion with the story.

But a good start to the series, I’d say, and I look forward to reading the next book.


This book was read for the Summer Biannual Bibliothon 2016.

One thought on “The Clockwork Scarab (Stoker & Holmes #1)

  1. Pingback: A three month book report – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

