Red Queen (Red Queen #1)

redqueen

Started: July 9, 2016
Finished: July 11, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 3/5 stars

NOTE! This review contains spoilers!

So this was me after reading this book:

I’m just… I don’t know. Except for me being able to predict that Maven would turn out to be the villain there’s nothing superbly wrong with this book. The characters are interesting, the back story is interesting, the world is interesting – even though I kept wondering if it was a dystopia set on Earth or in a different world – but there was still something that just made it impossible for me to fully enjoy it.

I think it is the fact that it is extremely similar to other YA novels of the recent years. I remember thinking – when I read the excerpt – that it reminded me a lot of the Hunger Games. And I still think that it does; the two are very similar in structure. If I’d read this before the Hunger Games trilogy I might have enjoyed this more, but it’s impossible to tell.

However I still love the cover of this novel – such a gorgeous 3D effect! When you hold the book it actually feels like you could just reach out and grab that bloody crown 🙂 So bonus points to the cover artist aaaand…. yeah, I’ll probably read the next novel. I just don’t know when that’ll happen.


This book was read for the Make Me Read It Readathon 2016.

One thought on “Red Queen (Red Queen #1)

  1. Pingback: A three month book report – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

