Book Report: June 2016

Whatup!

Terrible greeting, I know, but hey; I read a ton of books in June and it’s looking good for July so far as well, so I’m happy! I know I’m late with this, but I didn’t have time to write reviews for all of the June books until today and I didn’t want to post a report until I’d posted all of the reviews and stuff. So that’s the reason for the delay.

Inspired by C.R.M Nilsson – link in the sidebar!

Number of books read: 11

The Crown’s Game
Codex Born
The Last Olympian
The Crown
Dreams of Gods and Monsters
The Jewel
The Bitter Kingdom
Ruined
Captive Prince
Siren’s Fury
Från Holmes till Sherlock

Number of pages: 3175 (+ 33 hours of audio)
Average rating: 4.3

Written by men: 3
Written by women: 8
Written by American writers: 9
Written by Australian writers: 1
Written by Swedish writers: 1

Book of the Month: Ruined
Worst of the Month: The Crown’s Game
Surprise of the Month: The Jewel
Disappointment of the Month: Siren’s Fury

Currently reading: Legend (Lu, Marie) / The Lost Hero (Riordan, Rick) / Apprentice (Carter, Rachel E) / And the Mountains Echoed (Hosseini, Khaled)
Will read: See this link

Comments

  • Book of the Month: Hadn’t even planned on reading this this year but then a GR-friend wrote a review that inspired me to pick up the audiobook and I’m so bloody glad I did! I’m feeling some Throne of Glass vibes here!
  • Surprise of the Month: Did not think I’d enjoy this as much as I did because I thought it was simply a dystopian – a sort of retelling of The Handmaid’s Tale. I did not expect magic!
  • Worst of the Month: Bits of insta-love, kinda predictable, boring descriptions… the ending made up for some of it, though.
  • Disappointment of the Month: I liked the first book so much and then this book was kinda… meh. Beginning and end were good, but the middle bit was boring to read. Hope for more in the third book!
Leave a Reply

