Monthly Report(s): April & May 2016

Yeah, so I never had time to post a monthly report for April in May – work took up 99.9% of my time, basically. But now I’m basically done for the summer (I have four work days left but they’re basically just “closing up shop” days) and I have time to write blog posts and stories and read quite a lot (I’ve finished 3 books already since Friday, guys). Very, very happy about this!

Format is inspired by C.R.M Nilsson – link in the sidebar!

April

Number of books read: 6

The Girl with the Iron Touch
The Sea of Monsters
Shadow and Bone
The Glittering Court
Lady Midnight
The Crown of Embers

Number of pages: 2178 (+ 8 hours of audio)
Average rating: 4.2

Written by men: 1
Written by women: 5
Written by American writers: 5
Written by Canadian writers: 1

Book of the Month: Lady Midnight
Worst of the Month: The Glittering Court
Surprise of the Month: Lady Midnight
Disappointment of the Month: The Sea of Monsters

Comments

  • Book of the Month/Surprise of the Month: I am not the biggest fan of Cassandra Clare’s books. I loved The Infernal Devices, but The Mortal Instruments were a bit meh for me – some good bits, others I just wanted to skip. So I was a bit worried that since this was set after TMI I’d end up not enjoying it, kinda? Nevermind – I enjoyed it so much!!
  • Worst of the Month: I really want Richelle Mead to just go back and finish the Age of X series instead of starting new, mediochre ones. This one was cute, certainly, but it didn’t capture me like some of her other stuff has.
  • Disappointment of the Month: I’ve heard that The Sea of Monsters is the worst of the Percy Jackson series and I’m inclined to agree – definitely one of those “sequels that did not live up to the expectations set by the first book” books.

May

Number of books read: 4

The Titan’s Curse
A Court of Mist and Fury
The Sleeping Prince
The Battle of the Labyrinth

Number of pages: 1007 (+ 19 hours of audio
Average rating: 4.75

Written by men: 2
Written by women: 2
Written by American writers: 3
Written by British writers: 1

Book of the Month: A Court of Mist and Fury
Worst of the Month: The Titan’s Curse
Surprise of the Month: A Court of Mist and Fury

Comments

  • Book of the Month/Surprise of the Month: I knew SJM would deliver, but that she’d manage to wreck me and make me change ships so thoroughly I could not have seen coming in a million years. Gods, I love this series so much!
  • Worst of the Month: Pointing out that this wasn’t a bad book in any way – it got 4 stars from me. It just held the lowest rating of this month…

Currently reading: Från Holmes till Sherlock (Boström, Mattias) / The Jewel (Ewing, Amy) / The Bitter Kingdom (Carson, Rae)
Will read: See this link

Leave a Reply

