The Crown of Embers (Fire and Thorns #2)

april-thecrownofembers

Started: April 24, 2016
Finished: April 26, 2016

Language: English
Rated: 5/5 stars

Elisa is one of my favorite heroines ever!

Just had to get that out. I did enjoy this book more than the first one, but there’s still something that stops me from saying that this is a full 5 star book – more like a 4.5. I think it has to do with Rae Carson’s style of writing – it’s quite different from most other authors I read right now. Not in a bad way, mind, but different enough to make it a bit of a challenge to read.

This book was very politically intricate and studies what happens when a young woman is made sole ruler of a country that is not her home – how various people try to rule over her, claiming to guide her as she is inexperienced/young and not 100% familiar with all the traditions of the country.

Add Elisa’s magic and the fact that enemy powers want it for themselves and you’ve got a very intriguing plot line that forces the young queen to make a series of tough decisions.

My favorite part of this book was, however, the romance. I loved the thought of Elisa and Hector in the first book and to see their relationship develop even more in this novel made me smile like a madman. I do compare them a bit to Chaol and Celaena in Throne of Glass – a royal and a noble-turned-captain-of-the-guard – which might be why I ship them so much. And because of this ship I cannot wait to start the next book because HOLY SMOKES that ending was brilliant!

One thought on “The Crown of Embers (Fire and Thorns #2)

  1. Pingback: Monthly Report(s): April & May 2016 – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

