Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)

pubmarch-ladymidnight

Started: March 15, 2016
Finished: April 25, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 5/5 stars

A Shadowhunter-novel that’s about someone named Carstairs and does not involve Clary or Jace?

Seriously, though, that was my reaction to this book when it was announced. I did, however, also have the feeling that this book would break me somewhat. And it did. Not as badly as Clockwork Princess did but it still broke my poor heart.

First, let me talk about Ty. Ty, who is written so, so brilliantly! I have a student who is autistic and have thus taken a particular interest to this diagnosis, and I was so, so happy to find a character that was written as an autistic person without being strange and odd – which I think has to do with the fact that Cassandra Clare’s step-brother is autistic and she is therefore capable of writing a realistic character with this diagnosis. Forever grateful for that!

I would also like to say that it is so, so refreshing to read a Shadowhunter-novel where everyone of the main characters is already submerged in the world of Nephilim. I mean, it’s necessary when the readers don’t know what this is all about, but now we’ve already had 9 books about this world so I think we can almost consider ourselves experts 😉

However, the story was a bit too slow. This novel is one of the longer Shadowhunter-novels, but it was not nearly as entertaining as, for example, Clockwork Princess. But it was also the kind of book that, once you picked it up, you had trouble putting it back down again. And the conclusion was heartbreaking – and made me want the next book right away!

And yes; old characters do show up, so we don’t lose them entirely. I’ll have you all know that I squealed in public when Magnus Bane showed up and then there was Jem – JEM – whom I’ve missed so, so much!

One thought on “Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)

  1. Pingback: Monthly Report(s): April & May 2016 – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

