Unhooked

Started: March 19, 2016
Finished: March 24, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

Okay, so here’s the deal; Peter Pan was never my favorite story as a child. It was one of those Disney-films that I actually walked away from because I disliked the idea of it so much. So every time I see something about Peter Pan or Neverland I’ve sort of scrunched up my nose and just headed the other way.

Then Once Upon a Time and Killian Jones/Captain Hook happened and I’m not sure if it was Colin O’Donoghue or the character himself – or both (seriously, though) – but suddenly I became interested in the original story. Still wasn’t quite into it during the Neverland-storyline of the show but it did help me understand what JM Barrie had originally written; in the original play Peter Pan was actually the villain and Captain Hook was only a character added as a way to cover the set changes!

When this book was announced and people started saying that there were a lot of OUAT vibes in this, I just couldn’t let it slide, could I? I had to read it!

The storyline isn’t the best, I’d give you that, and the main character is definitely not a favorite of mine, but this book did have a lot of the same ideas that OUAT had for their Neverland-storyline which pleased me a hell of a lot more than Disney’s version of Peter Pan – or any other, honestly. Neverland is a dark and dangerous place, not some sort of paradise. Peter Pan himself is an obnoxious brat and the Captain (*whispers* Hook) is a man hellbent on saving himself, sometimes at a dangerous cost. It’s dark, it’s deadly and perfect for people who like Once Upon a Time.

It’s not a full 4 star book, I’d say – more like 3.7 or 3.8 – so it’s been rounded up. After that I’ll leave you with a bit of Killian Jones to get you into this book:

One thought on “Unhooked

  1. Pingback: Book Report: March 2016 – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

