Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1)

april-shadowandbone

Started: March 28, 2016
Finished: April 10, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

I’ve been seeing so many people talking about this trilogy so of course it ended up on my TBR pretty quickly after joining Goodreads. And I was not disappointed 🙂

First of all; the world building in this story is incredible. I love the Russian-like setting and the Russian-inspired language and the culture! I also liked the idea of the Grisha’s powers and hierarchy, especially since their status show one side of the dilemma that probably all people interested in fantasy and magic have pondered at some point; why don’t all characters with magic become the highest ranked creatures in that world? Here that has actually happened and the regular people despise the ones with magic, but can’t really do anything about it, and the ones with magic look down on the ones without.

However, I wasn’t as impressed with the storyline. I felt like it turned a little bit too much towards a renaissance high school love story. I’m hoping that the next book will contain a bit more real world action instead, because it definitely has a lot that I like and, considering the ending, I’d be surprised if the high school dramas continued.

So yep; 4 stars from me and hoping for more in the next one!

One thought on “Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1)”

Leave a Reply

