The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson #1)

percyjacksonlightningthief

Started: February 14, 2016
Finished: February 19, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

First of all; I loved Jesse Bernstein’s reading of this. His voice worked so well with the text and it became a highly enjoyable book to listen to!

Alright, so I’m not unfamiliar with Percy Jackson. Lots of people that I know have read it and told me to read it throughout the years, I’ve watched at least the first movie, I know the general stuff about it (including some spoilers). But I’ve always felt that I might be too old to read it – being 24 and reading about a 12 year old kid… I was just afraid that it wouldn’t hold the same “magic” as it would have if I’d been younger, alright?

Boy, was I wrong!

This was a highly enjoyable book – and much, much better than the movie X) Percy is such a perfect character to read about and even though him, Annabeth and Grover did at some times feel like a new take on Harry, Ron and Hermione it still worked out well for me. I did feel like some stuff at the start and end of the story could have been dealt with a lot quicker – hence the lower rating – but overall I’m berating myself for thinking that I’d be too old for reading this and thus not picking it up sooner. And as stated above; the audiobook is AMAZING! So definitely continuing this series – and soon!

One thought on “The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson #1)”

Leave a Reply

