Storm Siren (The Storm Siren Trilogy #1)

jan-stormsiren

Started: January 5, 2016
Finished: January 8, 2016

Language: English
Rating: 5/5 stars

Thanks to Winnie who bought me this for Christmas!

I need some good GIFs to describe how I feel right now. Hold on.





Did you all get that?
Good, because I’m still a mess because of this book.
Seriously, from reading the excerpt I thought it would be good. But I did not expect this sort of emotional Throne of Glass-esq roller coaster of emotions.
(alright, maybe not quite, but you get the idea)

First of all; I love Nym, the main character. She sees herself as a monster, she has these dangerous powers that she cannot control and they have caused people to die and she carves memorials into her arm to remind herself of this. The arm that is not inked with the circles marking her as a slave, that is. But yeah; self harm is a part of this story and as it is all written from Nym’s point of view it can become quite intense at times when she just desperately want to cut herself because of something she has done. And I do feel like there are other stories with similar plots like this that misses that – that raw need to harm yourself because of what you’ve done to others.

I could talk about this forever, by the way, but I think it’s better if you pick up the book and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

Personally I love a book that doesn’t have a complicated language and you can skim some sentences without missing out on a ton of details – and this book was exactly like that. There are interesting characters, some romance, magic that’s (at times) completely out of control and a very interesting world that I would love to read more about. World building is perhaps what this book lacks a bit in – and sadly the map provided for the book wasn’t a detailed Lord of the Rings-kind of map. I really miss those kinds of maps.

Also it’s the kind of book where everything seems to solve itself 20 pages before the end and you know that it’s the first part in a trilogy and there is bound to be a cliffhanger and… yeah, things happen and immense reactions and I almost threw the book into the wall because of that ending and the fact that I didn’t have the next book sitting on my shelf, ready to read.

So yeah; I’m definitely, definitely continuing this trilogy *goes online to order the next book right away*.

2 thoughts on “Storm Siren (The Storm Siren Trilogy #1)

  1. Pingback: Book Report: January 2016 – LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

