First Year (The Black Mage #1)

firstyear

Started: December 26, 2015
Finished: December 28, 2015

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

Thanks Mercedes Fox for this wonderful gift!

I did not find out about this series until I was befriended by the author here in Goodreads, at which point I decided to find a way to read it. I did not get around to it, however, until I received it as a gift for this year’s Christmas Book Santa. And boy, am I glad I did!

The beginning of the story was a bit confusing – I felt as if bits of information were only shared in the blurb but not in the story. But this world and these characters soon captivated me and I couldn’t put it down. I made mental bets on various characters and their chances of getting the apprenticeship and when my dad asked what I was reading I replied that it was a story “set at a school of magic, like Hogwarts, but with tougher eliminations than Dauntless” (my dad’s read Harry Potter but I doubt he has any idea what Dauntless means). It’s the kind of world were you kind of want to live but also don’t want to live because you know you would not last through such trials for a week.

This story also gave me the impression of that it’s definitely no more than the beginning. And with such a splendid beginning, is there a reason not to continue reading?

(the answer to that is “no, go buy the next book already”)

One thought on “First Year (The Black Mage #1)

  1. Pingback: Book Report: December 2015 | LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

