Cruel Beauty (Cruel Beauty Universe #1)

cruelbeauty

Started: November 25, 2015
Finished: December 3, 2015

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

Alright, so this book… confused me a bit. It is a pretty good story and I like the characters and the setting, but as a history nerd I kept trying to place it in the right historical setting.
If you don’t know; this story is sort of set in our world but also not because there is actual magic and demons and stuff and the place (Arcadia) has been trapped in its own dimension for 900 years or so. But to begin with it’s meant to have been a part of the Mediterranean empires (Roman/Greek) and because of that I tried to figure out when in the historical timeline it might be set – which should not be something that you do because, hey, it’s an alternate universe, but my history geek senses kept tingling all the time and it was distracting.

I was, however, pleasantly surprised that the story was not as predictable as I would have thought, being a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I kept changing my theories because I thought the ones I had in the beginning did not fit, and then I went back to them because suddenly they fit again, and then I had to change my mind. And I like a story that keeps me on my toes all the time – a bit like a crime/mystery novel. The language also feels really appropriate and I could easily read +50 pages in 40 minutes – which is usually what I have time for before going to bed 😛

But yeah, it’s a good story but I couldn’t give it a full 5 stars because at least for the first half of the story I got distracted by history stuff. Others will probably have less of a problem with that than I did X)

One thought on “Cruel Beauty (Cruel Beauty Universe #1)

  1. Pingback: Book Report: December 2015 | LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

