The Bane Chronicles

banechronicles

Started: July 12, 2015
Finished:
July 18, 2015

Language: English
Rating: 4/5 stars

Gonna review each story separately as I finish them and then one for the whole book once I’m done with it, and because of spoilers in these reviews I’ve placed the rest of this review behind a cut!

What Really Happened in Peru, rated 4/5
I was literally trying to cover my own ears when the story of Magnus trying to play music to impress a guy came up, because I could imagine how bad it sounded. And his little drunken adventure and Ragnor’s obvious smugness when the local anti-hangover-medicine had to do with guinea pigs was awesome!

The Runaway Queen, rated 5/5
It’s Axel von Fersen!

Seriously; being a Swedish history geek I always get über-happy whenever a Swedish historical character shows up in a non-Swedish book. Although I cannot confirm that he was dark-haired and blue-eyed – he has been portrayed that way in various movies but if you look at portraits he 99% of the time seems to wear a wig, and eye color is definitely hard to discern in old paintings that you see online.
Anyway; I loved this little story due to the setting. The French Revolution is something that I love to read about and I like the idea of Magnus’ involvement in the whole rescue operation. And by the end I was a bit mad that he didn’t contact Axel again because that might have saved the Swede from being murdered later on……

Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale, rated 4/5
I would have liked this a lot longer, because it tells both of how Magnus and Camille met and how he got involved with the Herondales in the first place, aaand the Accords! So much stuff, so little time to tell it.

The Midnight Heir, rated 5/5
WILL! TESSA! JEM! MY BABIES!

Seriously, so glad to see the old gang back together. I love The Infernal Devices even more than The Mortal Instruments and getting back to this setting and these characters and this sort of teaser for the upcoming series… GAAAAH, I NEED IT NOW!!

The Rise of the Hotel Dumort, rated 3/5
Didn’t find this that interesting, sorry, but it might be due to that I hardly know anything of the Great Depression in the US so I can’t really understand the historical context of it all.

Saving Raphael Santiago, rated 5/5
Brilliant story, love reading about how Raphael became a vampire and his relationship with Magnus because I was really intrigued when I found out about that in CoHF. Also the Raphael/Ragnor relationship was just HILARIOUS!

The Fall of the Hotel Dumort, rated 4/5
Ah, so here’s where they figure out that bad blood can do weird stuff to vampires! Should have known that’d happen during the 70s. Also this story almost made me feel bad for Camille. Almost. Then I remembered how many bad things she’s caused and then I disregarded that feeling.

What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway), rated 5/5
Magnus being incredibly cute and dorky when trying to find the perfect present for Alec, using a slimy demon, Catarina and Ragnor as (non-interested) advisors – and that ends up being himself (and making sure that Isabelle’s safe, but you know)

NEED I SAY ANYTHING ELSE?!

The Last Stand of the New York Institute, rated 5/5 stars
I actually thought this would be set during the TMI-events because everything else in the book seemed to be happen chronologically. Turns out I was wrong about that – but boy, am I glad I was because this was intense! You got to see the Circle! You got to see what they did and not just hear others telling you about it! And TESSA CAME BACK!! (nope, not at all obsessed with The Infernal Devices characters)

The Course of True Love (And First Dates), rated 5/5 stars
MALEC! AWKWARD CUTE FIRST DATES! WEREWOLVES! AND HOT HOT HOT HOT!

Mama likes!

The Voicemail of Magnus Bane, rated 3/5
Despite the hilarity in these messages (thanks, Isabelle Lightwood) it was very easy to just skim through this. It didn’t give you too much except for how much Isabelle wants her brother to be happy.

All in all, I did enjoy this book a lot because of Magnus. I mean, you cannot not love the guy! Average rating (of all individual story ratings combined) is 4.36, which I’ve rounded down to 4 – but as you can see above there were quite a few stories that I really, really liked (especially Malec-stories *cough cough* need more of those *cough cough*)

One thought on “The Bane Chronicles

  1. Pingback: Book Report: July 2015 | LadyxGreyWolf

Leave a Reply

