Book Report: June 2015

June’s not been a good reading- or writing-month for me – I’ve just been so busy presenting my thesis, graduating from university and moving, so I really did not feel like I could just relax and read for a bit until this past week.

Format inspired by C.R.M Nilsson, link in the sidebar!

BOOK REPORT FOR JUNE 2015

Number of books read: 6

A Feast of Dragons
The Heir
Gameboard of the Gods
Seven Years to Sin
Second Stone
The Stranger I Married

Number of pages: 1971
Average rating: 3.5

Written by men: 0
Written by women: 6
Written by American writers: 6

Book of the Month: The Heir
Worst of the Month: A Feast of Dragons
Surprise of the Month: The Heir
Disappointment of the Month: Second Stone

Currently reading: Fyre (Sage, Angie) / Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Taylor, Laini) / Pride and Pleasure (Day, Sylvia)
Will read: See this link

Comments

  • Book of the Month/Surprise of the Month: I’d seen a lot of reviews for this book prior to reading it and despite my motto to never believe in those reviews because you’ll always have your own opinion of things I was terrified that the book and the series’ new main character would, indeed, be horrible. I was pleasantly surprised when it turned out to be a story that I really liked. Eadlyn is so different from her mother and so incredibly strong, but has also lived a very sheltered and protected life. Of course it’s difficult for her to understand what some of those guys are going through back home!
  • Worst of the Month: I have a bad feeling about this series slowly declining in rating after this. Fingers crossed that it won’t happen and that I won’t quit midway through it all.
  • Disappointment of the Month: I really liked how the first book in this series played out, but Second Stone was sooooo sloooooow compared to that. It took, what, 200-something pages before things started to pick up and get interesting? And by then they became interesting enough for me to want to read the final installment – prior to that I was almost about to give up on it.
Leave a Reply

