Book Report: May 2015

I had a bit of a reading spurt after my thesis was done, but prior to that things were going quite slow. A few books read, though 😉

Format inspired by C.R.M Nilsson – link in the sidebar!

BOOK REPORT FOR MAY 2015

Number of books read: 10

Finnikin of the Rock
The Falconer
A Court of Thorns and Roses
The Iron Knight
City of Heavenly Fire
Cinder
I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban
Scarlet
The Winner’s Curse
The Assassin’s Blade

Number of pages: 4176
Average rating: 4.6

Written by men: 0
Written by women: 10
Written by American writers: 7
Written by Australian writers:
 1
Written by British writers: 1
Written by Pakistani writers: 1
Written by Scottish writers: 1

Book of the Month: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Worst of the Month: The Iron Knight
Surprise of the Month: The Falconer
Disappointment of the Month: Cinder

Currently reading: A Feast of Dragons (Rice, Morgan) / The Heir (Cass, Kiera) / Second Stone (Walker, Kelly)
Will read: See this link

Comments

  • Book of the Month: I knew the chances were high that I would love this book, since I love the way Sarah J Maas writes, but when reading the excerpt I was not so sure. But then, of course, when I got the whole book I couldn’t put it down for hours. Beauty & The Beast but with faeries – HOW COULD I EVER NOT FALL IN LOVE WITH THAT?! In the end I might actually enjoy this series even more than the Throne of Glass series… not guaranteed, though, since I love, love, love Celaena/Aelin.
  • Worst of the Month: As can be seen by the average rating this was not a bad month. This book did get 4 stars and I did enjoy it – but compared to the others it was the worst book. That’s all. No hard feelings.
  • Surprise of the Month: Reading the excerpt to this book I was like “Hm, this sounds really interesting” and I thought that it’ll probably end up being a 4 star book. Nope – it’s a 5 star, and well deserved! Brilliant story, brilliant setting, brilliant characters. AND THAT FRIKKING ENDING!
  • Disappointment of the Month: Cinder wasn’t a bad book, mind, but considering the buzz I’ve been seeing about it on Goodreads I was a bit disappointed. Still a 4 star book, but in this month’s ranking it was the disappointment.
Leave a Reply

