Cold Heart ch.39: Northerners

hpouat2 coldheart

Read the newest chapter here: Chapter 39
Read from the beginning here: 
Prologue


TEASER

     “Wait, how can you read them?” Indira asked, frowning at her friend. “I’m the one teaching Ancient Runes; I should be the one able to decipher them.”

“And you were, weren’t you?” Rachel replied.

“Yes, but…”

“But you didn’t know the words. See, that’s where I come in.”

She smiled again, although for some reason Indira thought the smile looked tense. There was also a slight frown visible on her forehead.

“These are old Futhark runes”, Rachel explained. “They were used by the Vikings in Denmark, Sweden and Norway and the language is the one used back in the days by people in the said countries. I understand it.”

“So you’ll be able to translate the book, then?” Regina demanded to know.

“I can certainly try”, Rachel replied. “I should call on Victor as well; I think he might have studied the old Futhark in school just like we did in Sweden.”

“And through that you’ve rendered me utterly useless in a situation where I should be useful”, Indira muttered and leaned back on her chair.

“You can come with me instead”, David said, coming back inside the office. “Whatever Emma said about doing this alone, Regina’s right; she might need back-up.”


 

Leave a Reply

