Book Report: April 2015

This was a bit of a slow month for me, mainly because of that I’ve been busy working on my thesis. So not that many books read!

Format inspired by C.R.M Nilsson – link in the sidebar!

BOOK REPORT FOR APRIL 2015

Number of books read: 5

The Iron Queen
Fifty Shades Freed
Fangirl
The Ocean at the End of the Lane
Splendor

Number of pages: 1982
Average rating: 3.8

Written by men: 1
Written by women: 4
Written by American writers: 4
Written by British writers: 1

Book of the Month: The Ocean at the End of the Lane
Worst of the Month: Fangirl
Surprise of the Month: The Ocean at the End of the Lane
Disappointment of the Month: Fangirl

Currently reading: Finnikin of the Rock (Marchetta, Melina) / City of Heavenly Fire (Clare, Cassandra) / The Falconer (May, Elizabeth)
Will read: See this link

Comments

  • Book of the Month / Surprise of the Month: Neil Gaiman has been on my reading list with several of his works since he wrote the episode “The Doctor’s Wife” for Doctor Who, but I’ve had trouble deciding which one I should start with, since so many of his books have gotten such good reviews. The fact that I started with The Ocean At The End Of The Lane was eventually due to that it was sold at this year’s Grand Book Sale in February – and I must say I was not in the least disappointed. The story was captivating and strange in a way that I find very rare and I did not have trouble to finish it in less than a day. Brilliant!
  • Worst of the Month / Disappointment of the Month: Fangirl has gotten such good reviews from friends of mine and because of the resume I think I sort of assumed that I would love the story as much as they did. Sadly, I did not. I found Cath to be quite an annoying character whom I did not see myself in at all, except when it came to emerging yourself in writing fanfiction instead of other things. I also found that the best sections of the story were really the ones that were the fanfiction that Cath was writing, not the story about Cath. It might simply be that I could not see myself making the kind of decisions that Cath was making, but nevertheless it did not, sadly, go on to become a favorite of mine.
One thought on “Book Report: April 2015”

Leave a Reply

