Story Excerpt: Lose It

storyexcerpts

Read full excerpt here!


TEASER

”Wow, sorry ’bout that.”

He bent down to help her pick up the folders and books that he had caused her to drop when he bumped into her.

“No, no, it was my fault”, she protested and pushed a brown strand of hair behind her ear. “I didn’t look out.”

“Kind of hard to look out with this stack of files in your arms”, he said and rose, carrying half of the bunch himself. “Here, I’ll help you with that.”

“Thanks, but…”

“Hey, I bumped you”, he said with a soft smile. “Kind of an annoying way to start your first day here, huh?”

“Well, I’ve been bumped before”, she said with a shrug as they started to walk down the corridor. “When you’ve got your nose stuck in a book the whole time you cannot avoid hitting things.”

“Well, I’m still sorry. You know where your locker is?”

“I doubt that I have one”, she said with a smile. “Or do teachers have lockers?”

The surprise almost made him drop the files he was carrying for her.

“You’re a teacher?”


 

Leave a Reply

