Book Report: March 2015

It’s monthly report time! Format inspired by C.R.M Nilsson – link in the sidebar! 🙂

BOOK REPORT FOR MARCH 2015

Number of books read: 10

Jag är Love
Skogens systrar
Demon Child
A Noble Assassin
Nidstången
Queen of Kings
Envy
Fifty Shades Darker
The Iron Daughter
The Divergent Companion: the Unauthorized Guide to the Series

Number of pages: 3236
Average rating: 3.6

Written by men: 2
Written by women: 8
Written by American writers:
4
Written by Australian writers:
1
Written by British writers:
2
Written by Swedish writers:
 3

Book of the Month: Demon Child
Worst of the Month:
A Noble Assassin
Surprise of the Month:
Queen of Kings
Disappointment of the Month:
The Iron Daughter

Currently reading: Fifty Shades Freed (James, E.L) / The Iron Queen (Kagawa, Julie) / Finnikin of the Rock (Marchetta, Melina)
Will read: 
See this link

Comments

  • Book of the Month: I got obsessed with this series last spring when I read the first three books, and then I ordered all the other published ones and read them during the summer and after finishing the last of those (book 7) I was STARVING for the next one. I rarely pre-order books, but this one I did pre-order and it did not disappoint me. It was thrilling, funny, exciting and shocking – and the title did not refer to the person I thought it would refer to, so half-way through the book I literally sat there with my jaw hanging open in surprise. Which is a good thing!
  • Worst of the Month: A really interesting plot, real historical characters… and the story falls flat. I hate when that happens. All that potential and it just generates nothing. That was this book for me; it generated nothing.
  • Surprise of the Month: I am a big fan of ancient myths and religions and since this was set during Cleopatra’s time and concerned Rome I knew I would most likely enjoy it. I just had not expected that I would like it this much. I have a feeling I’m going to have to re-read it at some point because there were doubtlessly details and nuances that I missed while speeding from page to page to find out what was going to happen!
  • Disappointment of the Month: Based on the ratings on Goodreads I had expected that I would like this book a bit better than the first one in the series. Turns out I definitely did not. Main character annoyed me up until the last quarter of the book or so when things finally got going. Now I’m just keeping my fingers crossed that I won’t be as disappointed in book 3 or this series might actually be an unfinished read.
Leave a Reply

