Hero at the Fall (Rebel of the Sands #3)

Started: February 21, 2018
Finished: February 28, 2018

Language: English
Rating: 5/5 stars


We would be stories long after we were gone. Imperfect, inaccurate stories. Stories that could never even come close to reality.


It’s over? The series is over?

Honestly, I thought this was the perfect ending to this series. Alwyn Hamilton wasn’t afraid to give us a few broken hearts along the way and kept going with the twists and turns, making us question if there could ever be a happy ending. Or, if there was, if that ending would stay happy.

Following the shocking reveal at the end of Traitor to the Throne, Amani and the remaining rebels set out to save their captured friends, stop their nation from being invaded and save the trapped Jinni from the Sultan’s control – before he can turn them into weapons. Sounds simple, right? Well, maybe not – and it gets even more complicated than that when it turns out their friends have been sent to the same place that keeps the Destroyer Of Worlds from getting free. The rule is simple; the barriers let you in, but never let you out. Of course, impossible has never deterred these rebels. It’s only a matter of time.

Only, that’s what they’re running out of.

This book had the heartbreak, the romance, the action and the political intrigue that I found myself loving so much in the second novel – which I still rate slightly higher than this final installment. I loved the pieces that were part of stories told around the campfire about the rebellion, because they certainly made me think “well, this is going to hell” – and sometimes I was right, sometimes Alwyn Hamilton threw a curve ball at me. Love those curve balls!

I feel like I definitely need to re-read this series at some point. But, right now, I think I just need to settle down and cry about it being over.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.